# How to change user permissions

This article will go over how to change a user's permission to a manager, admin or both.

**Written by:** Marisa Crowder  
**Date:** March 18, 2026

To change a user's permissions, you must already be a Nectar admin.

- Go to the Users tab and click on the profile of the person you want to update.
- Scroll down to the field titled Workspace Permissions

If you don't see all these permissions options you may not have access to some of them.

- There are six permission options:

- **Engage Admin**: Gives the user access to all Engage settings. You only want people who should be editing the settings inside your Nectar account to have this permission.
  - **Comms Admin**: Gives the user access to all Comms settings. You only want people who should be editing the settings inside your Nectar account to have this permission.
  - **Recognition Admin**: Gives the user access to all Recognition Admin settings. You only want people who should be editing the settings inside your Nectar account to have this permission.
  - **Manager**: Identifies a user as a manager to receive the associated monthly manager point allowance.
  - **Analytics Access**: Allows a user to have access to the Analytics reports without having Admin permissions. This can be used for upper management or financial departments that may need access to this information.
  - **Group Sending**: Is to allow users to give shoutouts in larger groups like departments. Click [HERE](https://help.nectarhr.com/en/articles/5705609-group-give) for more information on this feature.

- Once you select the permission you want the user to have, scroll down and click Save Employee.

Check out this quick video on how to change user permissions.

## Updating User Permissions in Nectar

* * *
