# How do I Edit or Delete Shoutouts?

How to edit and delete shoutouts

Written by Joslyn Prestwich  
June 18, 2025

## Table of contents

- [How to edit a shoutout](https://help.nectarhr.com/en/articles/6497099-how-do-i-edit-or-delete-shoutouts#h_da1c1d5ef7)
- [How to delete a shoutout](https://help.nectarhr.com/en/articles/6497099-how-do-i-edit-or-delete-shoutouts#h_50822757b6)
- [Time limits for editing and deleting shoutouts](https://help.nectarhr.com/en/articles/6497099-how-do-i-edit-or-delete-shoutouts#h_1e3ef96afd)

## How to edit a shoutout

To edit a shoutout after it's been posted:

1. Click the **three dots** (•••) in the top-right corner of the shoutout.
2. Select **Edit Message**.

Note: You can only edit the **message content**. You cannot change the:

- Recipient (@ mention)
- Points (+ value)
- Core value (# tag)

---

## How to delete a shoutout

If you need to undo a shoutout entirely, you can delete it:

1. Click the **three dots** (•••) in the top-right corner of the shoutout.
2. Select **Delete**.

Deleting a shoutout will:

- Reverse the points awarded
- Remove the shoutout from the feed
- Subtract the points from the receiver and return them to the sender
- Update the **leaderboard** and **analytics** to reflect the change

---

## Time limits for editing and deleting shoutouts

- **Senders** can edit or delete their own shoutouts for up to **24 hours** after sending.
- After 24 hours, you'll need to contact your **company admin** to delete a shoutout.
